Mitchell's Mustard Blog

May 20, 2014

A little teaser of a love story called ‘Max and Lola’ Continued . . .

Filed under: My Work — Tags: , , , , , , — mitchellsmustard @ 3:11 pm

“Are you ok Max?” said one of his regular female customers
“I’m good thanks, is there anything else I can get for you?” Max replied with a smile.
He was too proud to let anyone see his discomfort, the distraction he had found in her.
“Women trouble? I recognise the look of a distracted man” She said
“Me, distracted?. . . . Can I be honest with you? He asked
“Of course, we’ve known each other for long enough now Max”
“I see women as a disposable pleasure rather than a meaningful pursuit” he said
“Ohh . . . maybe I shouldn’t have turned back” Lola said standing behind him, a frown across her face.
She started to turn and leave feeling like an idiot, why would he be any different to the rest of the boys she had dated. Feeling her heart in her mouth and a swirling in her stomach, she knew she had made a mistake to come back.
“Wait . . . Lola please wait. You didn’t give me chance to finish what I was saying” he said to her back as she walked away.
“Go after her Max” the customer said.
“Wait . . Lola” Max shouted down the street after her.
She stopped, but didn’t turn around. He caught up to her, faced her, placed his hands on her arms. She looked angrily into his eyes, a look that bore into his soul, a look that he quickly learnt to fear.
“Let me finish what I was saying”
She didn’t answer, she just looked at him.
“I see women as a disposable pleasure rather than a meaningful pursuit, but she is different. I can’t stop thinking about her, she’s under my skin, I want to see her everyday, I want to smell her on my pillow, on my clothes. I’ve relived that morning over and over in my head, wondered why we didn’t exchange numbers. That smile, that contagious smile that makes me smile, smile for no reason. I’ve known her for less than twenty four hours but I miss her, I can’t explain it, I knew I would bump into her at some point and I have rehearsed what I would say over and over, but it means nothing now because the words seem unspeakably lame when face to face with her. I miss her and I don’t even know her. . . . I want to change this, I want to get to know you Lola.”
He was shocked that his feelings had come to the surface, his pride thrown to the wind. But he felt completely vulnerable as her facial expression didn’t change, he knew he had to walk away before he said something else that might ruin it.
“I’ll leave you with that thought” he said letting go of her arms, he smiled and walked back to the restaurant.
“You did good” said the female customer as Max walked up.
“You think? She looked pretty angry”
“You’ll hear from her, I think every women that just heard that speech fell in love with you a little. Even me and I’ve been happily married for years” she smiled.
“Thank you” Max smiled.

Her brain was buzzing, her heart pounding against her ribcage, her hands were shaking. It had started out as anger, furious with herself for thinking that he was different from all the others, a man, not a boy. She didn’t want to stop and give him the chance to explain, she wanted to walk away, walk him out of her life, but something made her stop, there was something different about him. She felt her heart in her throat as he spoke, those kind and wonderful words, but sometimes words are just not enough.

He felt sick to the stomach, his hands shaking, he didn’t regret a word he said, he wished he had said more. He could still see her angry eyes digging into his, he was to blame for her beauty to slip into anger. He looked around in a daze, all his customers had gone, only the messy tables they had left witnessed him slowly falling apart.
“Can I sit anywhere?” Came a voice from behind him
“Lola” he smiled, “Errr . . yeah, sit where you like. What can I get you?”
“A cup of tea and a conversation?” she smiled
“Right, both coming up, back in a minute.”
She took a seat, put her bag on the chair next to her and pulled out packet of Marlboro menthol. He returned holding two cups of tea, sat down and looked at the packet of cigarettes in surprise.
“I didn’t have you down as a smoker?”
“Only when I’m stressed, I used to smoke and I always revert back to them when stressed or angry” she looked at him.
“I’m sorry, I didn’t mean to piss you off” he pointed at the cigarettes “Can I?”
“Oh yeah, knock yourself out. You’re not going to get in trouble are you?” She said lighting their cigarettes.
“Na, I took a break so you have me for a good fifteen minutes” he laughed.
She liked his laugh, he had a smile she could sink into, embrace and never get bored with. A smile that suited his face, a smile that looked like it was used a lot.
“I didn’t think I’d see you again, if I’m honest, it scared me a little” he said
“A little?” she said playfully.
“I meant everything I said, you need to know that.”
“It isn’t what you said that made me come back”
“Ohh, then what?”
“It was the look in your eyes as you spoke to me, the fight, the emotion. It was the look in your eyes that made everything real, captivated me. Right there and then I had the feeling you’d fight for me, you believed everything you said which in turn made me believe it”
He smiled, he was tumbling fast. He was excited, nervous, his stomach swirled.
“Yes I’m mad, I know . . . It’s the little things” she laughed.
They sat and talked through his break, the swirling smoke from their cigarettes circled them and bound them together in a cocoon of conversation and laughter. Not once were either of them distracted by what was going on around them. Max had been reminded twice already that his break was over but each goodbye started another conversation.
“Right, I have to go back before they come and remove you” he winked
“Okay, so . . .”
“I want to see you again, All cards on the table, I want to see you again. Here’s my number, use it” he said while writing on a serviette.
“Thank you for the tea” she took his number, picked up her bag, leant in and kissed him on the cheek. He watched her as she walked away, she took a moment to look over her shoulder, smiled and disappeared into the crowds of people.
“Excuse me, can I get a coffee”
“Of course sir, I’ll be right with you” Max replied.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

